Newegg Phishing Email
This morning, I noticed that there was an email in my inbox from info@newegg.com. I’ve ordered stuff from Newegg in the past and that’s always the email address that they use to send out emails.
The email referenced an order ID (37679041) in the subject line. I thought that this was strange, since I hadn’t ordered anything lately from them. The rest of the message was a bit startling.
The message, in its entirety reads:
Dear Customer,Thank you for ordering from our internet shop.
If you paid with a credit card, the charge on your statement will be from name of our shop.This email is to confirm the receipt of your order.
Please do not reply as this email was sent from our automated confirmation system.Date : 08 Oct 2006 – 12:40
Order ID : 37679041Payment by Credit card
Product : Quantity : Price
WJM-PSP – Sony VAIO SZ370 C2D T7200 : 1 : 2,449.99Subtotal : 2,449.99
Shipping : 32.88
TOTAL : 2,482.87Your Order Summary located in the attachment file ( self-extracting archive with “37679041.pdf” file ).
PDF (Portable Document Format) files are created by Adobe Acrobat software and can be viewed with Adobe Acrobat Reader.
If you do not already have this viewer configured on a local drive, you may download it for free from Adobe’s Web site.We will ship your order from the warehouse nearest to you that has your items in stock (NY, TN, UT & CA). We strive to ship all orders the same day, but please allow 24hrs for processing.
You will receive another email with tracking information soon.
We hope you enjoy your order! Thank you for shopping with us!
I’m sure that the zip file doesn’t contain a PDF, but I never opened it.
As you can tell, the email is worded quite well and mimics an order receipt closely. I’ve contacted newegg.com and they are aware of the issue.